Un(wine)ing Down at Beachaven

My friend, Haylie, and me celebrating her birthday.

My friend, Haylie, and me celebrating her birthday.

There is nothing quite like sipping on some sweet, red wine while enjoying a cool August night at the wineries. (If you haven’t noticed by now, I absolutely love wine.)

Whether I’m drinking a glass curled up on the couch watching Sex and the City with my favorite gal pals or going out for a wine tasting event, all you have to do is mention the word “wine” and I’m down.

Two weekends ago I visited one of my best friends for her birthday weekend celebration. For the past couple of weeks, she had been talking about this Jazz on the Lawn event at a local winery in her town and wanted all of us to go check it out. Obviously it wasn’t too hard convincing me to go.

I’ve been to a couple wineries on the Southern Illinois Wine Trail, which usually consisted of small crowds of middle aged women enjoying time away from their significant others. So I was expecting about 40 to 50ish people at the event.

Boy was I wrong.

Jazz on the Lawn event at Beachaven. Photo creds to Beachaven Vineyard & Wineries Facebook page.

It seemed like everyone in the entire town showed up, from toddlers to teenagers to young adults to retirees. Everyone was either sitting in lawn chairs, sprawled out on blankets, standing up chatting with friends, or displaying their moves on the dance floor.

After tasting almost every wine selection on the menu, the group unanimously voted to buy a bottle of Blackberry.

So we joined the hundreds of other people at the event, talking, dancing, sippin’ on Blackberry wine (my idea of a perfect night).

“Is this the FIRST picture?”

I could have stayed at Beachaven for the rest of my life and been perfectly okay with it. Something about that atmosphere makes all of your worries disappear. You can’t help but feel relaxed, calm, and just happy.

Leave a Reply

