Here Goes Nothin’

I am not a renowned author. Nor am I a great story teller. What I am is a 23 year old looking to make her mark in this world.

We all know how it goes. Parents, teachers, family members, society, everyone tells us that we need to attend college in order to get a good job someday. However, no one seems to want to talk about the transition from college student to “adulthood”. Until now that is.

I started off on the ideal path. In the spring semester of my senior year, I accepted a position as an advertising representative at a media group. It was a great job for a recent college grad, and would provide me with lots of experience for a later marketing position. But somehow along the way, I ended up leaving for another job offer (far, far away from the field I want to end up in).

So now I start back at square one. “Back to the drawing board!”.

As I scroll through Indeed and Glassdoor, I find one reoccurring theme in the qualifications for every single job listing.

MUST HAVE 5-7 YEARS EXPERIENCE IN A RELATED FIELD.

Okay.. So what you are telling me is you don’t want to employ a bright, energetic, innovative 23 year old. You want me when I’m 30?? Okay, I guess I’ll check back with you in 7 YEARS..

So what should a girl do in the meantime? How do you gain all of this experience when no one is willing to take a chance on you? The answer is simple. Well, I’m sure the answer is simple, but I haven’t quite figured it out yet.

A good way to approach this is one baby step at a time. Find a job where you can get some sort of experience that can be used later on (that is the only mindset to have in order to keep your sanity) and work your way up. We all have to “do our time” before we land the dream job. It will all be that much sweeter when we do.

Leave a Reply

